Rathangan

The name Rathangan originates from "Iomhgain's Rath", the remains of which are can still be seen in the town. Rathangan suffered much upheaval during the 1798 rebellion when troops under Colonel Longford slaughtered 42 of the towns people and hung another twelve. Much Town development soon after 1784 when the Grand canal was built and it's unique layout came from the houses designed for canal engineers and the presence of larger town houses of the gentry, including the Hunting Lodge of the Dukes of Lenister. Rathangan attracts lots of anglers to it's fine stretches of water.
Back to Kildare Back to IT Carlow
AK Last Updated 24th March 1998